continued... Pork is a different issue. But the same. Like the Sabbath is a separated day from rest of the days of the week, the Jewish people are a separated people from the rest of the nations. Using the same language the rudiment animals with a split foot are separated from the rest of the land animals. The separated people are only permitted the separated animals. This puts the Pig into a non-permitted category. And that divide is a hard divide to cross. Pig milk is not kosher, pig hair is not kosher to eat, pig cells would not be kosher. There is a concept that a bone found in the field from a long dead non-kosher animal is more like a stick than a bone… allowing the gelatin to be harvested. But, this is not a widely accepted opinion. Furthermore, gelatin is a non-living chemical the source of which is not identifiable after chemical purification. The harvested cell needs to be alive and distinctly pig. Hence, the “bone as stick” argument would be hard to apply.